I’ve noticed all the other schools only teach for 8 hours. Why does your school require 16 hours in the classroom?Mr. Elliott is a teacher at Shawnee Mission East High School. Fred & Amy opened Behind the Wheel, Inc. in 1998 when the school district removed Driver Education from the curriculum. Mr. Elliott had taught Driver Education as a semester-long course for the district. When the couple inquired to the State of Kansas about opening a commercial school, they learned the State required only 8 hours of classroom instruction. Knowing the serious nature of driving and the fact that this course is about life and death, these parents opted to provide 16 hours of classroom instruction.
What can I expect in the classroom?Students attend two 8-hour days of classroom instruction. The classroom is lecture, discussion, note taking and testing taking. Students will meet their driving instructor in the classroom setting and schedule out 6 hours of driving lessons to occur over 4-6 weeks. A police officer, railroad engineer, and a semi-truck driver all join the class to speak to students about their specific expertise adding invaluable lessons and information. Both days are required in order to complete our program and receive a certificate of completion.
What can I expect in the car?Behind the Wheel, Inc. is staffed by teachers from the area school districts. Students each receive 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction. Typically, students go out as partners, so students should expect to observe up to 6 hours in addition to their driving time. All of our cars are late model Toyota Camrys equipped with dual brakes and dual mirrors. Students are taught the latest driving techniques, laws, and procedures needed to be safe and defensive drivers. Instructors pick up at home, work, school or anywhere in the Johnson County area.
Do I need a Learner’s Permit to begin this course?Teenagers are not required to come with a permit; however, we strongly encourage students to attempt the Learner’s Permit test at least one time at the Driver License Bureau. If you pass your test and obtain a permit prior to class, you have the ability to begin practicing with a parent. If you do not pass your permit test, it’s okay. In fact, at least 50% fail this test. No worries, we will provide you with a certificate after you successfully complete the two days of classroom instruction. This certificate will get you your permit at the Driver’s License Bureau. Adults need to come with a Learner’s Permit. Remember, students must be at least 14 years of age to take Driver Education and this includes the classroom instruction .
Can I take your course if I live in Missouri?Yes, we welcome students and adults from Missouri. You must come with a current Missouri Learner’s Permit. You will receive all the same thorough classroom and driving instruction. Students will need to come to Johnson County for driving.
I’ve lost my Certificate of Completion, how can I get a replacement?
The original form was a white (8.5 by 11) piece of paper you received after successfully completing the course. If you can’t locate this form, please click here and follow the instructions.
Can I switch class sessions?
Yes, you can always switch to a different session if a conflict arises. Please give us notice of canceling at least 72 hours ahead of your schedule class date, to apply your deposit to a different session. Failure to notify will result in your deposit being forfeited. Click here to request to change to a different session.